Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Feb 28, 2009, 9:47 PM   #1

Hi -

I am relatively new in this hobby.

I currently have a
Canon EOS Rebel XS Digital SLR Camera with the default 18-55mm IS Len... it is a great for a beginner like me.

I did some reading with the material that is included with my camera on macro photography. I have a burning question: well yes I am interested in small stuff like bugs and flowers and food and taking the pictures close-up... but can I really use a macro lens for ordinary object as well? Or that depends?

If so - what would be an ideal macro len for beginner? Say something not as much as half of what the camera itself costs me?

Thanks-

NN
namy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 1, 2009, 6:36 AM   #2

Macro lenses tend to focus slower than other lenses, so they may not be appropriate for sports/action/wildlife, but for other subjects a macro lens should do ok.

There are lots of ways to do macrophotography. One of wich (and the least expensive, btw) is to use close up lenses. These attach to the filter mounting ring of a lens you alreadyhave. This is not a very good option since even the best close up lenses will degrade image quality somewhat, but the 18-55 lens you've got is pretty sharp to start with, you might get satisfactory results with them.

Another is to use extension tubes. These are tubes that attach between a lens and the camera body. These are less convenient than close up lenses, but the don't add optical elements they produce good results when used with sharp lenses.