Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 18, 2009, 11:26 AM   #1
imt

I have a canon 20D and I am an amateur photographer but looking to get more into it. I am looking to get some good new lenses.

This camera was a hand me down from my father, who just wanted something basic and he had the stock Canon EFS 18-55 lens as well as a Sigma 70-300 f4-5.6 telephoto lens.

I am using the camera for sports photo of my kids (8&10) little league baseball/softball, basketball & soccer games. Also use it for regular day to day shots as well. Aside from basketball, all of the games are outside and during the day. I guess for soccer, since its the fall, some days can e gloomier than others. In regard to the regular day to day shots, I also want the ability to take photo's inside without having to use the flash. If I am correct on this (novice alert) I think I need a faster lens with a smaller aperture to accomplish this. I am interested in taking this camera beyond the totally auto preset setting (Jpeg only) and maybe shoot RAW + Jpeg where I have more editing/correcting capabilities in Aperture 2.0 and more adjustments in regard to pictures. Not sure also if anyone has a good source to read about photography to learn how to best utilize and when to utilize the AV, TV, P settings.

So if I was looking to get a couple of lenses to get started with what I am looking to do, what would you recommend? I was looking at the 70-200 f2.8 but in reading other posts, not sure if this wold be the most ideal or not.
imt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 18, 2009, 3:30 PM   #2
Administrator

Welcome to the forums.

I rarely shoot sports. But, Canon shooters seem to prefer the 85mm f/1.8 USM for basketball in many school gyms when using Canon 20D/30D/40D bodies, providing you can shoot from the floor.