Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old May 26, 2009, 4:33 AM   #1

Default 70-200 F/4 Vs 70-300 IS

Sorry to bring the same topic. I am a PhD student and not rolling on cash. I recently upgraded from S2IS to 40D and have tamron 17-50 F2.8 and 50 F1.8. Need a telephoto lens within 500-600 Euro (when u buy in Europe if not more expensive!). I don't want to regrate later and updrade. I prefer shooting low light scenes of cities (not indoor sports or fast action). But I can use the tamron for the same! The telephoto I sometimes might use for wildlife (I know 100-400 L is great but out of budget!) as well as normal travelling around. Will I regrate buying 70-200 instead of 70-300 IS? 70-200 I can sill use the same filters, advanntage. No plan to be a pro.
Any kind response will be appreciated!
Surajit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 26, 2009, 9:40 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surajit View Post
The telephoto I sometimes might use for wildlife (I know 100-400 L is great but out of budget!) as well as normal travelling around.
You're going to have to decide how much you want to shoot wildlife. The 70-200 f4 is not a good wildlife lens. So, yes, if you want to shoot wildlife you'll be disappointed. But it's a fantastic lens for a 70-200mm lens. Great optics, fast to focus and great build quality - it's a pro grade lens.

The 70-300 is slightly better for wildlife but 300mm is still short. It's smaller than the F4 and has very good IQ for a consumer lens. What I don't like about it is the plastic build (most consumer lenses are plastic) and the fact that the front turns during focusing (as opposed to the f4 which focuses all internally so nothing on the outside moves).