Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jun 20, 2009, 5:26 PM   #1

Default Zoom lens for Canon T1i?

I'm the proud new owner of a Canon EOS Rebel T1i and so far (4 days) I'm loving it! I'm no expert so for now the kit lens (18-55mm) is fine for me to start.

What I do miss is the tight shots I could get with the 10x optical zoom that came on my point and shoot. I typically shoot my kids running, playing, singing in school concerts, etc. Can someone suggest an inexpensive zoom lens for my T1i (canon preferably, IS, AF, etc) that will approximate (or exceed) the performance of my 10x optical zoom on my point and shoot?

Thx.

I look forward to participating on the forums!

Michael
MichaelT1i is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 20, 2009, 6:46 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Probably the best long zoom from Canon is the 70-300 IS USM (don't confuse this with the 75-300mm which is weak. It's not cheap but does a good job. Don't expect miracles from this lens indoors under low light conditions but it has good length and with the T1i will do a better job then any of the P&S cameras out there as you have good noise handling on the T1i so you can get faster shutter speeds in low light.

The only problem is you said cheap; cheap and IS don't really go together if you want good results. If keeping it cheap is key then the Tamron 70-300mm Di can turn out quite good results.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2009, 5:28 AM   #3
Super Moderator

And also - zoom with your feet.

One of the best things you can do to learn photography is to put on a fixed focal length lens and leave it there for 6 months, do all your zooming with your feet and you will be forced to learn about composition.

When you have a zoom lens the temptation, even for experienced photographers, is to compose by zooming. This is usually a very bad idea and leads to desperately boring pictures.