Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jul 12, 2009, 6:02 PM   #1

Default Lens recommendations for photojournalism course

A friend is starting a photojournalism course this coming fall and she asked for my advice re lenses to buy for her recently-purchased Canon 5D. Admittedly, I can offer some advice, but I'm no expert (by any stretch of the imagination).

Her course outline recommended the following:
"... a selection of zoom lenses. The speed of the lens is extremely important, particularly for lower light level situations. Avoid lenses slower than f/2.8. An ideal zoom lens for working for photojournalists is with the wide angle to normal range... 16-35mm... or a fixed 35mm f/2. Additional lenses such as an 80-200mm f/2.8 should be budgeted for and will be needed in second semester."

Does this make sense? I know that course outlines are often put together by non-experts. I was tempted to suggest a 10-22mm and perhaps a kit lens (the 18-55mm IS, although the max apature is f/3.5 and thus too slow according to the course outline), then maybe a fixed 50 (the f/1.4 USM is fast but expensive, the f/1.8 is cheaper and also fast but neither matches the recommended 35mm).

My advice would be hobbyist input, based on a range of lenses that might work well for an amateur that's not employed as a professional... I'm somewhat in the dark about "photojournalism" requirements. Some pro advice would be helpful. Anyone?

Last edited by Boldstar; Jul 12, 2009 at 6:07 PM.
Boldstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 12, 2009, 6:59 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Neither the 10-22 or the 18-55 will work properly with the 5D as they are designed for APS-C sensors rather than full frame.