Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Aug 18, 2009, 8:53 PM   #1

Default Rebel XSi lens

Hi,
I have the Rebel XSi, and just the one lens that it came with. (18-55) I would like a lens that would zoom a little more, (doesn't have to reach the next county). Would the Canon 28-135 or the Canon 55-250 be good choices? I would like it to be as lightweight as possible, and the price needs to be around $250 or so. And is it important that I get one with image stabilization? I am just learning about dslr cameras, so I need to keep it simple. We are going on vacation in October so want to get it before then for sure.

Thanks,

Suzie
dave59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 19, 2009, 3:36 AM   #2
Super Moderator

I wouldn't bother with the 28-135 as most of the range you currently have is covered and also it isn't wide enough to really make it your walk around lens (well not for the sort of shooting I like). The 55-250 isn't the strongest lens with quite noticeable vignetting at the widest apertures but for the price, size and weight it is a nice complement to the 18-55.

Is it important to get IS, this is a huge question that has come up many times in the past. IS is like anything in photography, it is a tool and it has the place where it should be used, in the same way as a tripod or flash are tools that should be used in the right conditions. There are places (like sports photography) where it doesn't help but in low light conditions where flash can't be used then it will help with camera shake, but won't stop blur from moving subjects. So it isn't a magic way to get better photos but it will help if used correctly.

Lastly before you decide if this lens is right, are there any specific sorts of photography are you wanting to do?
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2009, 6:11 AM   #3