Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Oct 12, 2009, 8:08 PM   #1

Default Indoor Lens for T1i

I'm a very novice user, and usually take pictures of my family, indoors.

I recently purchased the T1i + Lens Kit. I'm fairly happy with the IQ of the kit lens for outdoor pictures, or when I'm willing to use the flash indoors. But with very young kids, I don't use the flash unless I have no choice.

I find myself shooting at a 25-35 focal length. I'm interested in the EF 28mm f/1.8 USM. Is this a decent lens for indoor work? Since my 18-55 IS is generally at f/4.5 (at 25mm), will I notice a significant low light difference going to the f/1.8 lens?

One thing that has me concerned is the lack of IS in this lens. Is that an issue?

I'm trying to shy away from EF-S lenses just in case I upgrade to a full size body at a later time.
rijndael is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 12, 2009, 11:09 PM   #2