Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Nov 15, 2009, 7:33 AM   #1

Default Zoom for candid kid pictures - T1i

I just graduated from a Panasonic DMC-FZ28 to a Canon T1i. I have the kit lens. I am an amateur photographer with no aims (or finances) to be anything but a good amateur. That said, I take pictures almost everyday.

I already miss the zoom feature of the Panasonic! I have read most of the other recent posts on lenses and get the need to use the kit lens for awhile and to learn composition - but your legs cannot take you to the middle of the pool for your kid's swim lesson. Or if you want the "real" picture where your kid does not give you the cheesey grin (b/c you are not in their face with the camera), but you are able to fill the frame with their face. Or the toddler who is walking towards you and you need some distance between you and the toddler to compose the shot (I said I am an amateur), but you want the close-up.

I cannot spend a lot of money, but want something that will go the distance in terms of growing with my family and being useful for vacation shots too. So what lens?
CynthiaK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 15, 2009, 8:06 AM   #2

Let me add -- I asked about a zoom, but if something short of a zoom fits the bill for me, please suggest it -- I am not tied to a zoom, just need something that allows me some distance from the subject, but does allows tight face shots as well as action shots (swining in the park, swim lessons) from a distance and is more than the kit lens.
Old Nov 15, 2009, 8:35 AM   #3

Can you go through the photos you've taken with your FZ28 to see the focal length you've used for those? That will help to determine what lens would suit your shooting style.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2009, 8:35 AM   #4

Cynthia - what is your budget? There are always options.