Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Nov 16, 2009, 10:46 AM   #1

Default Canon 18-135 vs Sigma 18-125 OS or something else

I have the T1i with the 18-55 mm kit lens. I posted yesterday about a zoom for candid kid pictures and after reading some other posts and doing some research, I don't think I need a 200mm zoom, but could get something with a smaller range. I need something that is easy to carry around - I can take it to the park on a daily basis. Fast AF is a big deal to me - especially in low-light (I will get an external flash). Willing to spend in the $500-600 range.

Uses: candid kid shots (action/indoor and out - will get an external flash). Want to be able to get the candid shot without being in the way and completely obvious.

Additional use: vacation shots

I am an amateur photographer.

Opinions on these lenses? I know the Canon is new and there are not too many reviews out there. Is there another range that I should consider instead?

Thanks!
CynthiaK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 16, 2009, 1:41 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Something else.

According to the photozone tests they are both fairly horrible, much worse than your current lens.

The 15-85 IS is much better, but quite expensive. Do you really need such a big zoom range on one lens?

Something like the 55-200 is much better if you don't need to have one lens to do it all, and if you can walk a bit closer then your current lens is much better too.

I have never had any problems using a 50mm lens on FF and taking pictures of my kids. Just get closer they get used to it and then ignore you. :-)
Old Nov 16, 2009, 1:53 PM   #3
Super Moderator

optically neither of these lenses is any better than their 18-200 brethren. so, not that good. its surprising then that canon would bundle their high resolution 7D with that weak 18-135 lens.. but thats another issue.

the 15-85 craig mentioned is a great choice.