Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Dec 4, 2009, 2:06 PM   #1
Super Moderator

Default Sigma 17-70 now with OS (not just canon)

This is what i have been waiting for in a walkaround/travel lens. Sigma has finally put OS in their 17-70. Think this will be a great general purpose lens combining a relatively fast 2.8-4 max aperture with good 1:2.7 macro capabilities and now OS together. This makes it quite versatile. Finally I may pull the trigger on a walkaround lens.

http://www.canonrumors.com/2009/12/s...8-4-dc-os-hsm/
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 4, 2009, 9:30 PM   #2

That's cool. I've been using the Sigma 17-70 for several years. It is a very sharp lens. IMO it's close in IQ to the Canon 24-105L lens.
Mugmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2009, 1:22 PM   #3

I have many friends whose XSi's kit lenses (18-55) have either come apart, or its AF stopped working (after 10,000+ shots). I know mine will come to that too, one day...
I was planning to upgrade my walkaround lens for some time now, but since I got a Canon 10-22mm last month (and I'm thrilled by its great IQ), I'll wait a while for this one.
RConsonni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2009, 2:44 PM   #4

I've been waiting for a stabilized, large aperture, standard zoom lens. The OEM lenses are outrageously expensive. While the initial reports look good, I've been waiting for objective test results on Tamron's 17-50/2.8 VC, and failing that, Sigma's 18-50/2.8-4.5 OS. Sigma's announcement of the 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM is certainly welcome, but I'll still wait for the objective test results.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2009, 5:28 PM   #5
Super Moderator