Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Dec 11, 2009, 4:23 PM   #1

Default Applications of Canon EF-S 55-250mm IS lens

I have a T1i with 18-55mm kit lens. I have an opportunity to get a used Canon EF-S 55-250mm IS lens from a friend. I would like to know what kind of photography is the lens best suited for which I can't achieve well with the kit lens. I'm new to the SLR world.
bickerer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 11, 2009, 4:29 PM   #2
Super Moderator

well first off the 55-250 IS lens from Canon is a wonderful lens for the price. one of the better values around.

in short, it does anything that the kit lens is too short for. so anytime you wish you could zoom in further. it's best application is for general telephoto work. on a crop body, can be pretty good at the zoo. good for shooting kids in the yard playing when you need to get closer. or anytime you need to fill the frame with a subject you can't get close to.

it also does pretty well for close-ups for a non-macro lens. offers pretty decent 1:3 macro mode, which would work for larger close-up work like flowers, etc.

it can do some slower moving sports in daylight in a pinch. but is not good for low-light sports or anytime the action is moving fast since it has a relatively slow aperture and does not have a high speed motor.

Last edited by Hards80; Dec 11, 2009 at 4:33 PM.
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 4:32 PM   #3

In general, the 55-250 gives you "more reach" so you can take a photo of a subject a little further away. So, let's say you want to take a photo of your dog or your child - full body. For the kit lens you'd have to be about 10 feet away or closer. The 55-250 would allow you to take a shot, filling the frame from maybe 75 feet away.