Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Dec 12, 2009, 1:24 PM   #1

Default Canon XSI with Rokinon Lens

Question for anyone who may know...

I have Canon XSI with a Manual Focus Rokinon 80-200mm lense on it..

When I take far out shots, it doesn't seem to want to focus the best.. Any tips?

I have an adapter allowing it to work on my camera, could the spacing be incorrect?

This is what I have...
http://whitemetal.com/pentax/rokinon...0~200_info.htm

Any help is appreciated... I'm a noob.
L]
------------------------------------------------
xJoey Dubsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 12, 2009, 1:27 PM   #2

Also, what is the dial for?
L]
Old Dec 12, 2009, 1:31 PM   #3
Super Moderator

when using older FD lenses on EOS bodies you need an adapter that has optics that multiply it a bit to allow focus at infinity. i am guessing your adapter does not have these optics.
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2009, 1:46 PM   #4
Administrator

Here's an article on using Manual Focus lenses on a Canon EOS system body. I'm assuming that's a Canon FD mount lens.

http://www.bobatkins.com/photography...focus_EOS.html

You'll probably need an adapter (look for FD to EOS; or FD to EF adapters) with optics in order to focus to infinity with that lens, as Hards80 pointed out. You'll usually see them with around 1.2x magnification (the adapter acts as a teleconverter))

These are relatively common (but, quality varies, and you can usually expect a bit of image degradation with one).

You may also want to consider an adapter with Autofocus confirmation built in (basically, these have electronics that fool the camera into thinking you're using an Autofocus lens, so that the AF confirmation in the view finder will light when your manual focus is correct while you're half pressing the shutter button).