Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Dec 28, 2009, 7:15 AM   #1

Default Sigma VS Tamron VS Canon

Hi there,

I am not a professional photographer.. but am developing my skills and I am looking forward to have very nice photographs.
So, I want to upgrade my 18-55mm kit lens. Since I dont want to keep on changing the lenses..I am ok to sacrifice some quality

In that regards, I have narrowed down to c
Canon 55-250mm
Sigma 28-300 DG IF Macro Aspherical
Tamon 18-270 Di II VC LD

I would go with Canon but I would miss the wide angle.. so which is the better lens amongst the two (sigma or the tamron)??

regards,
phani_astronomy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 28, 2009, 7:33 AM   #2

First of all, you are comparing apples and oranges

Do you like to replace your 18-55 lens with a megazoom lens (somethin like the tamron you mentioned) or do you want to keep the kit lens and add a telephoto lens like the 55-250?

Canon has a 18-200 lens with IS - but when it comes to megazooms, it seems like the sigma 18-250 OS has the best reviews!

Maybe a more experienced photographer like many on these forums can help you

EDIT: Sorry, I didn't realise you want a megazoom - in this case you really should take a look at Sigma lens I've mentioned!

Last edited by maggo85; Dec 28, 2009 at 7:35 AM. Reason: Forgot something
maggo85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2009, 7:42 AM   #3
Super Moderator

Which 18-55 lens do you have, is it the original or the more recent IS lens?

What sort of shooting do you want to do? You say you want very nice photos then say you don't mind sacrificing quality so it depends which is the most important. A 2 lens solution is nearly always better than a single but this will depend how good your 18-55 is.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2009, 7:44 AM   #4

Of the three that you mentioned, the Canon 55-250 is the best.