Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jan 27, 2010, 6:42 AM   #1

Default Canon 50mm 1.8 II vs. 1.4 AF??

Hi all,
I'm new to the DSLR world. Recently I purchased the Rebel XS.
I've been spending many hours reading about the 50mm. I'm torn between the 1.8 II and the 1.4. My question is:
Just how much better is the AF on the 1.4? Is the extra cost justifiable?
I will be using it mainly at parties and in my apartment for candid shots.
Being a beginner, is the 1.4 worth it?
Thanks
stiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2010, 7:10 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Hi and welcome to Steve's.

The 1.4 is quite a bit better with the USM motor however I'm not sure for your needs that you will be able to justify the difference in cost. I use the 1.8 on a range of Canon bodies up to the 5D mkII and it really is a great little performer. As you are new then give the 1.8 a bash and if you find you are using it loads and want faster focusing then get it. The 1.8 is so cheap that you can't go far wrong. I've considered the 1.4 many times but not been able to justify it to myself of the amount I use a 50mm lens.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2010, 7:32 AM   #3

Unless you are planning to take allot of extremely low light photo with your camera, I would go with the 1.8 also. The AF works better in this environment with the 1.4 then 1.8. But the XS is not ideal for light that low either. I have the 1.8 and like mark said it is a great little lens and you can not go wrong for the price.
Old Jan 27, 2010, 7:36 AM   #4

Thanks for the quick response!
Is the main difference between the two speed? I can live with a slower AF.
My concern: It seems many people have said the 1.8 II "hunts" too much and won't focus on the shot. Do you find this to be true, or an over-exaggeration? Especially in low-light "bar" situations.
stiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2010, 8:05 AM   #5