Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Mar 4, 2010, 3:25 PM   #1

Default lens choice for aquarium visit

hi there, complete noob in the realm of photography and dSLRs. I just bought Canon XSi kit as well as the 50mm f1.8 lens
Tomorrow my family is making a trip to the Shedd Aquarium in Chicago and i was wondering if somebody could maybe give me heads up on the lens to use (18-55mm kit lens or the 50mm prime) and possibly what settings may work better than others.
I suspect i should use the 50mm since from my readings it appears to work better in low light, indoor type of situation, but then again Internet reviews are best consumed in large quantities.
thx for any help
ronin2307 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 5, 2010, 2:29 AM   #2

Are you going to be taking photos of the fish in glass tanks or the people/kids looking at the fish in the tanks? or both?

In either case without flash the 50 1.8 will handle the low light MUCH MUCH better!

If you are shooting fish in a glass case then flash could be a problem with the glare so that make the 50 a better option.

However, if you want to get group shots of kids/family in a photo it can be tough at 50mm unless you have a large room. You could always use a flash for the group shots (but that might be bothersome to others or staff - I don't know).

If you just want to capture your kids looking at Nemo then the 50 would be fine for that.

If it was me and I could only take one it would be the 50mm. However, as you are new to DSLR and changing lenses is part of the deal, maybe you can take both lenses. Both are quite small so it should be easy to bring both. You may want photos of the building outside where the 18-55 would give you a better chance of getting the building.