Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old May 24, 2010, 3:58 PM   #1

Default Canon XSi in low light

I have a Canon Rebel XSi. I am a beginner with DSLR cameras but love to learn. Unfortunately, I have not been able to get the shots I want in a theater setting taking pictures of dance recitals. My daughter also plays volleyball in a gym setting. I am only using the kit lens (18-55mm) and it just doesn't seem to have what I need (or my skills are lacking).

I would greatly appreciate any advice on settings or suggestions for a better lens for action in low light.

Thank you.
Jessi'Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 24, 2010, 4:08 PM   #2

You are going to need a really fast lens (small F number). the size will depend on how far back from the stage and if you can use a tripod, you probably can't use a flash. the 85 F1.8 is good, but limited to about 30 ft. Also you may have a problem with your max ISO on the camera.
waoldrifleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2010, 4:25 PM   #3

How low is the light you are taking the photos in at the theater. Even with a brighter lens, if the light will not allow you to get you shutter up to at least 1/250 at 1600iso. You will have to accept motion blur. Even at 1/250 you will have some motion blur, but the faces should be in focus. Unless you can uses a flash then you can freeze the action, it is somethings not permitted. The only other solution is get a body that can shoot at 3200 and 6400iso, and even 12800iso. If the lighting do not permit. And you will still need a brighter lens like the ef 85mm 1.8 USM.
Old May 24, 2010, 5:24 PM   #4