Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old May 26, 2010, 11:47 PM   #1

Default Telephoto Zoom Lens $300 budget

So I got my camera the other day and I was outside in my yard taking photos figuring everything out and realized I really need a zoom lens. But because I am really new to photography I don't really know where to go and what to look for in the lens. All I have now is the kit Lens that comes with the Cannon T1i which is 18mm-55mm.

I am looking to shoot wildlife to an extent such as birds and other animals like ducks and an occasional deer if its around in my yard (which is quite often). Also my brother plays in a high school marching band which when they do there shows we are in a High school stadium which isn't to large but I would like to zoom in on just him. The problem is I don't know how to judge how far a lens will zoom. I understand some basics and such but I am still confused.

I have looked at the Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS lens but I read on another website that it isn't that great with wildlife and they suggest getting a lens with a longer zoom.

Any suggestions would help as I would like to purchase this lens sometime this week.

Shane
Spgovert is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 27, 2010, 4:47 AM   #2

The Canon 75-300mm III USM at $195 is a fair bit cheaper than the 55-250mm, and there are also similar offerings from Sigma and Tamron which are considerably cheaper still (Sigma 70-300mm $160, Tamron 75-300mm $120), all very popular telephoto lenses. These prices are all from amazon.com; perhaps you can get cheaper elsewhere.
Old May 27, 2010, 7:05 AM   #3

I will warn however that 300mm is short for wildlife work - especially small birds. For certain 250 is too short. So keep your expectations in check. If you're serious about wanting to shoot wildlife you need to save your pennies for a 100-400L or Sigma 50-500 type of lens.