Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old May 28, 2010, 12:38 PM   #1

Default Need a lens for Studio photograhpy

Hey guys! I work as a graphic designer and web designer for my uncles company which makes office furniture. Recently we purchased a Canon EOS Rebel XTi to take pictures of furniture in our studio which we built. Now the thing is that we want the quality of our pictures to be a lot better. We're using the kit lens which is a 18-55mm lens. I've read several posts but cannot decide what to get for just taking pictures of furniture in a studio. These are just some sample pics so you guys can get an Idea of what we take pictures of:

They're scaled down and sharpened a little in photoshop.

Off topic: Also do any of you guys know of any good Lighting kits? Gonna need one as well.

Thank you all for your time
Muggz
Muggz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 28, 2010, 1:09 PM   #2

Hi Muggz,

You will read a lot about Canon's 18-55 f/2.8 IS and I am sure it is a great lens. That should work very nice for what you are doing. If you have a more limited budget like I do the Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 (non IS) has been working great for me on both an XSi and 50D. There is so distortion on the widest end but it looks like you can back up enough to shout at 25mm or more so that should not be an issue.

I am not real sure that quality of the images would vary much between a Tamron, Canon, or Sigma. Instead the light may be the main ticket in taking these to a higher level - like maybe different angles and light under the desks etc.. which I know nothing about.

As for the lighting there are so many to choose from but I purchased a set of B800 Alien Bees from Paul Buff last November and have been very happy but I do not use them everyday.

Andy
griffina6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2010, 1:23 PM   #3