Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Sep 10, 2010, 12:02 AM   #1

Default what lens?

I don't know if I am in the right place, I just saw Newbie and thought that applied Anyways I have a Canon 450d .. I am just starting to learn how to use it not on auto, its only been a few days.. the difference is WOW... and I am planning on sticking with it! Anyways, I know I haven't fully learned to use it but I want a new lens.. one with more background blur (don't you like my technical description?) What kinds of things should I look for when buying one.. I want to go out and grab one tomorrow. I want one because I see pictures by my photographer friends and they say mine can't quite achieve that affect... so I am hoping to find one I can play around with and get pictures that I love... any ideas ? I am sorry I am so ignorant to the camera world, please don't run me out! I am hoping to learn a LOT more! Thank you soooo much in advance for any help
OohLaLacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 10, 2010, 12:22 AM   #2

you are looking for a lens with a large aperture. And the blur is called bokeh. How much are you looking to spend. The smaller the f# the bigger the aperture. So your kit lens is 3.5-5.6. To get a richer bokeh effect, shooting at 1.8 to 2.8 would give you this effect easier.

A decent low cost one would be the canon ef 50mm 1.8 MKII.It sells for about 90-100 dollars. But there are better ones also in the 300 ranges in different focal ranges. But since you are starting out I think the plastic fantastic would be a good start. But if you want to get a better one. I have couple of suggests also.
Old Sep 10, 2010, 12:33 AM   #3