Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Oct 19, 2010, 8:41 PM   #1

Default Lens for Canon T2i - Family Photos

Hi All,

First of all apologies for creating a new thread on T2i lenses but I have gone through all of the existing threads and still unclear.

I'm new to DSLR potography and will be buying a T2i soon but I'm confused about which lens to buy with it.

1.) I'll be using it for indoor and outdoor family pics and portraits (mainly my 2 yr old daughter).

2.) Some people say kit lens is a good start, others say it sucks.

3.) I won't be shooting long range landscape shots but it would be good if I can get a lens that does family pics as well as outdoor landscape shots.

4.) Main goal is super clear, sharp, crisp and WOW pictures.

Price should be decent, not super expensive. Should I buy the body only or along with the kit lens.

Thanks a lot.
smuggymba is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 19, 2010, 9:28 PM   #2

Canon 15-85 mm. f/3.5-5.6. Good all around lens. Medium priced (about $700). Reasonable build. EF-S mount (good for the APS-C sensor). But not so much luminous for indoor picks.
You can always get the T2i with a kit lens and trade the lens to get some money back.
Ordo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2010, 9:29 PM   #3

I would stick with the kit lenses, a flash good external flash will help with the indoor portraits.

If you are a season dslr user, the kit lenses is a bit lacking. As they are not that fast to focus. But stop down they are pretty sharp.

If you want the super sharp. It can cost allot, a L series lens like the EF 24-70mm 2.8L, but that is a very expensive lens. But there is a 750 option with the ef-s 17-55IS USM.
Old Oct 19, 2010, 9:31 PM   #4

Ordo's lens recommendation is another good option with the ef-s 15-85mm
Old Oct 19, 2010, 9:47 PM   #5