Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Nov 9, 2010, 1:03 PM   #1

Default Upgrade from my EF-S 18-55mm kit lens?

I've had my T1i for over a year now and the kit lens (EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS) has treated me really well. I'm a semi-talented hobbyist at best, and I mostly photograph:
  • Friends and family at social gatherings, special events, on vacation, etc.
  • Outdoor landscapes while travelling
  • Food (trying to help a friend with her book)
I go on the odd mission to capture specific scenarios or try different techniques, but I'm mostly in the business of preserving memories.

I'm looking for suggestions on what could replace my kit lens. I want better results indoors, in low-light situations, without having to use the on-board flash. For the most part the kit lens does a good job, but even at 18mm (zooming with my feet), with the apature wide open and ISO bumped up... some come out great but others are botched or blurry. I'd rather not have to use a flash... no-flash photos look warmer and more realistic. At least to me they do.

I'm hoping to find:
  • A lens for less than $500
  • Something that does a decent job photographing people indoors, in low-light situations
  • Something that can also capture wide-angle stuff
Any opinions?

Last edited by Boldstar; Nov 9, 2010 at 1:06 PM.
Boldstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 9, 2010, 4:34 PM   #2

Large aperture, stabilized, standard zooms aren't very good, except for this one. If you can do without the stabilization, the Sigma 17-70/2.8-4.5 and 18-50/2.8, and the Tamron 17-50/2.8 are excellent, but their stabilized siblings are not.
TCav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2010, 6:45 PM   #3

Thanks for the feedback TCav. Can you tell me why the "large aperture, stabilized, standard zooms aren't very good?"