Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Dec 16, 2010, 5:57 PM   #1

Default Hi, is there a lens that could double as macro and portraiture?

As the post suggests is there a lens that could manage both? I am new to Dslrs, just got a t2i.
Looking to spend less than $400.
Or should i just get the "niffty fifty" and something else fo the macros?

Thanks

Marķa
marubex is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 16, 2010, 6:13 PM   #2

Any macro lens would be great for portraits. In fact, if macro lenses have a fault, it's that they're too sharp for portraits. (Sometimes, you don't want every pore, facial hair, and blemish showing up in a portrait.) Anything from Canon's 60/2.8 and Tamron's 60/2.0 through Sigma's 70/2.8 to Tamron's 90/2.8, would do well. And if you've got room to back up (or you want to shot what looks like a passport photo) you can go with Canon's or Tokina's 100/2.8 or Sigma's 105/2.8.

The 50/1.8 is a little too short for head & shoulders portraits, but it works well for couples portraits and environmental portraits.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2010, 7:08 PM   #3

Tcav thank you. I've seen somewhere mentioned a sort of macro adapter? 500D??? What is that? Is it good? Where can i find it i have searched in adorama and bh lenses.
Old Dec 16, 2010, 8:48 PM   #4

hello
prime lenses are usually sharper and have better quality than zoom lenses, although many zooms in the right hands are unbeatable
prime lenses do cost more
tamron 90mm 350-450
canon 100mm 500-600
figure out the space in which you will use lens, if indoors and in a tight space the 85-105mm range is too tight, outdoors its fabulous as also in a studio setting
macro is different coz its close up and the canon is really very good