Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Dec 27, 2010, 8:09 PM   #1

Default Hypothetical better deal (EF 70-300 IS, 70-200/4 NON IS)

Quick question, as there have been tons of threads on this very topic across the internet.

If a new EF 70-300/4-5.6 IS is $480 or so, and a used (seven-year old) EF 70-200/4L is $450 (but in great condition), would the 70-200 be the inarguable best choice? Or would the IS/reach outweigh the age of the L lens?

http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/ufiles/87/496187.jpg
http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/ufiles/88/496188.jpg

I think I would be hand holding most of the time, and have no real telephoto specialty since I'm a total amateur whose longest lens is the 18-55 IS kit.

Thanks!

Last edited by cjp87; Dec 27, 2010 at 8:26 PM.
cjp87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 27, 2010, 8:14 PM   #2

As for optical quality yes, if you hand hold a lot at slower shutter speeds then IS is nice to have.
JustinThyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2010, 8:52 PM   #3

What do you want to shoot?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2010, 10:03 PM   #4

That's part of the problem for me: I don't really know. Like I said, I'm totally amateur and more opportunistic than anything, so the possibilities are pretty out there.

I know I enjoy wildlife, but I definitely can't afford the 100-400L/500L or something equivalent, so I don't have delusions of getting the perfect birding shots. But if the opportunity arose to shoot birds, lizards (I'm going to St. Lucia for a honeymoon next July), or any other nearby animals, I will definitely try and take them.

Unfortunately the University of Oklahoma doesn't allow removable lenses at football games, so I won't be shooting there, either.

I plan on keeping everything for a very long time, so I suppose in the future I'll have a family (but that's years off, and I'll be better funded when that time comes around).