Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jan 29, 2011, 3:08 AM   #1

Default Looking For A Lens To Shoot Low Light And Night

I'm an amateur shooter by all counts but I make money on my images as they get used for software applications.

I am thinking of getting a Canon 60D as I often need the tilting LCD for 'covert' shots. Now I have a lot of demand for low light and night images of cars and bikes - still and moving as well as night scenes such as streets, buildings, city skylines etc.

How would the Canon 70-200mm f/2.8 IS II USM do for these sort of images under street lights? I would not be able to use a tripod in most situations.

As I can make from the images cost is of secondary importance, just need to get very good night shots.

Last edited by daclick; Jan 29, 2011 at 3:10 AM.
daclick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 29, 2011, 3:21 AM   #2

well for a zoom, that is about the best you can get. It is a big aperture zoom, with pro glass. Nothing else really comes close in this focal range with that kind of preformance. So 70-200 2.8 II and the high iso of the 60D will give you good results. As long as the subject is not moving to fast and not to dark. Decent street lighting. You really do not want to shoot pass 3200iso, as it gets noisy pass that.
Old Jan 29, 2011, 3:26 AM   #3

PS

Also when shooting with the big aperture, you need to accept the shallow dof that comes with a big aperture lens. You will most likely not get the whole car in focus at 2.8 depending on how close you are to your subject and how much separation your focus point is in relation to the rest of the car.
Old Jan 29, 2011, 4:36 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoturtle View Post
PS