Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jul 18, 2011, 12:11 AM   #1

Default Canon 10-22 or Another Choice?

Hi Everyone,

I was hoping I could get comments or opinions from anyone who reads this. I am current using a T1I with various Canon lenses. I am considering my next addition to be an ultra wide zoon. In Canon's case this would be the EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM. I should also add that I am not a professional. But instead an advanced amatuer.

For that reason it makes it a little more difficult to justify the higher cost of Canon over the two options I have listed below. Even thought I fully understand the benefits of purchasing the original manufactures equipment. That being quality, compatibility, better glass and a fast lens. The other 2 choices I am considering would be:

1. Sigma 10mm - 20mm f/4-5.6 EX There is also a F/3.5 available
2. Tamron SP AF 10-24mm f / 3.5-4.5

I have no experience with either of these maufactures lenses. So, I can't be sure if one is "bettter" than the other. Or instead it makes more sense to stay with a Canon lens for a Canon camera.

Any comments pro or con would be appreciated. That will help as I get closer to a decision

Thanks
ttonnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 18, 2011, 1:44 AM   #2

what do you currently have,
Another option is the tokina 11-16 2.8
And if you need even wider the sigma 8-16 4.5-5.6
Old Jul 18, 2011, 3:46 AM   #3