Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jul 29, 2011, 10:54 AM   #1

Default Advice on Canon 70-200mm f/2.8 IS

I have read numerous reviews, and it appears that there is a significant upgrade between the I and the II. I understand that. However, my question is for those that own or have owned the I.

Even though the II has better IS and shoots a better image (from what I have read), were you disappointed in the original lens? In other words, if the II were not introduced, would you still want the original? Were/are you happy with the results of the original?

Any comments or advice is appreciated. I know I want this lenses, but I don't know if the newer version is warranted for my skill level. I am an intermediate level hobbyist.

Thank you for your help.

Eric
El Guapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 29, 2011, 11:27 AM   #2
Super Moderator

I'm a wedding tog and use the mkI all the time. The shots are more than good enough to sell at whatever size I want with my 5DmkII so I have no intention of upgrading currently. I will be looking to add the new version at some point so I've got a backup but not yet. I know a few shooters who have moved and they love the new lens, it is much better glass, however will most make the use of it? Nope.

What are you wanting to shoot?

Have fun everyone!

See what I'm up to visit my Plymouth Wedding Photography
site or go to my blog.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2011, 1:10 PM   #3