Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Aug 3, 2011, 6:31 AM   #1

Default 2nd lens for a beginner?

Hi, just bought my first DSLR and chose the Canon 1100D with kit IS 18-55 lens.

As I am really new to the whole DSLR world, I'd like to ask for a little help and someone to point me in the right direction for my 2nd lens. I'd like to get myself a lens with better zoom than the standard lens. Shooting mainly to outside in the nature, beaches, mountains etc.

Looking for something entry level and cheap that would be enough for a beginner. Could even consider buying used. What are the best price/quality lenses to choose from? Thanks!

Ken
kenkx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 3, 2011, 6:50 AM   #2

Your budget for this lens will be the deciding factor. For $400 it's an easy choice - I'd recommend the Tamron 70-300SP. For $600, the Canon 70-300mmIS.
iowa_jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2011, 8:18 AM   #3

What do you want to shoot? Do you want to get wider than the 18-55 you have now, or do you want to get longer?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2011, 1:38 PM   #4

It would be good to know a budget but cheap isnt always the way to go maybe shoot a bit with what you have. The canon kit lens isnt that bad then look at what your needs are. If longer then the 55-250is is a good lens and also its light and gives good picture quality. its wide then you may have to save a bit more
wave01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2011, 1:46 PM   #5

Until you try wider you won't know if you like it. or LOVE it! when i'm in city, i always want my UWA on. even a 17mm (crop body) isn't wide enough. Other people favour the 70-200 for the ability to get details. hard to say what you will like as you're just starting out. so a generic long lens might be a good buy. i wouldn't go too cheap as you'll need to replace it later on.