Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Feb 15, 2004, 7:56 PM   #1

Default Simple question regarding lenses

I'm new to SLR digicams and am about to look deeper into buying a 10D or D-Rebel. Right now I'm using an old Canon A1 and I really like my setup with the lenses I've got and all. I'm just really wanting to go digital.
So I can't use my FD lenses on something like the 10D or D-Rebel, can I? I've got a great macro, telephoto, and fisheye lense (especially), that I'd love to carry over with me but I'm pretty sure they won't work on the new cameras.
Thanks for any info guys!
-Tim
-Ever- is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 15, 2004, 11:46 PM   #2

No, unfortunately you can't. I don't believe (but I could be wrong) that an adapter was made either.

If you own any flashes they might work (but not in E-TTL mode.)

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2004, 12:05 AM   #3

Here's a quote I found. Take it for what you think:

Canon FD lenses are manual-focus only lenses which Canon sold in the years before switching over to the autofocus EF system. Many, particularly those made in the late 70s and early 80s, offer excellent optical quality, have smoothly-operating metal barrels and are available quite inexpensively on the used market. So the obvious thought comes to mind - can such lenses be attached to EOS cameras?

Unfortunately the lens mounts used by the two systems are completely incompatible. FD lens mounts are smaller in diameter, have a different lens register from EF lenses, rely on mechanical levers to control lens aperture, are of a breech-lock design (rotating pressure ring) and never contain autofocus motors.* EF lens mounts are larger in diameter, are of a bayonet mount design (put lens into camera and rotate partway to lock), support electronic control of the lens aperture and the lenses usually contain autofocus motors.
Normcar is offline   Reply With Quote