Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Mar 10, 2004, 8:10 PM   #1

Default Tamron 28-300 XR with 300D

Hi, I'm a bit new on this SLR camera. Just got my 300D yesterday. I'm looking at an additional lens. Thinking about buying a NEW Tamron 28-300 XR lens for my 300D... Any comment on this combination?

Hammerli
Hammerli is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 10, 2004, 8:51 PM   #2

Just food for thought ... take it for what it's worth .... I have no personal knowledge of the lens you're considering, but in general, lenses that cover from the wide angle to the long telephoto range are generally of lesser quality than those that cover narrower ranges.

While it may be convenient to have to change lenses less often, you will sacrifice some image quality.

(I'll probably be assaulted by those that have this lens and think it's the greatest thing since sliced bread, but that's ok ... my comment is just general in nature and definately not gospel )
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2004, 9:40 PM   #3

Default Thanks OHenry!

Your comment is valueable. I will keep that in mind when the final decision comes, which will be pretty soon.
Old Mar 11, 2004, 12:38 AM   #4

Another thing to consider about that 28-300 lens....at some point as it nears 300mm it "slows" down to a maximum aperture of f6.3. Once the lens slows beyond f5.6 I'm not sure you'll have autofocus with the Digital Rebel.
Greg Chappell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2004, 9:32 AM   #5

I think this lens some award in Europe last year. Reviews on it were pretty good. I just bought this lens last Friday, got it yesterday. Was $360 at B&H plus a $40 & $10 rebate. You have to get the $10 bonus rebate off of Tamron's site.