Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 17, 2004, 7:29 PM   #1
suz

Default The same old question

At the risk of sounding redundant, I too am trying to figure out which lenses to buy along with my new 10D. I am a novice but have been producing some great shots with my non SLR digital camera. I like to shoot many different types of shots and there lies the delema. I want to be able to explore them all without breaking the bank

I love to take off the wall creative shots such as a close up of the raindrops underneath my patio table. So "Canon 100mm f2.8 macro"

I also live in the Sierra where landscape photography abounds. So I am also thinking "17-40mm f/4L usm ?

But then again I want have the capacity to get that all around shot with increased depth of field thus "70-200mm f/4L USM

Obviously I am not quite prepared for the expense of all three but am wondering in which of these areas that I should stick with the higher priced Canon and which areas might be more forgiving with a lesser priced Sigma??????????????????????? :roll:
suz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 17, 2004, 7:49 PM   #2

I can't speak for Sigma as I don't own any, but Tamron 90mm macro is a fine lens as is the Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 XR Di lens. I own the latter and have no complaints about it. On the other hand, I also own the Canon 100 f/2.8 macro and the Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS and love both of them.

If you can't afford all three, you'll need to determine which type of photography you'll do the most of and go from there.
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2004, 9:39 AM   #3