Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jun 4, 2004, 1:15 PM   #1

I am planning to buy a Canon digital Rebel camera but being a novice Iam not sure what kind of lenses I should look for and where to get a good deal.

I plan to take close ups of distant objects and also need to have lens that canlet me take great portraits. SoI guess I'll be needing two lenses. Can yousomebody letmeknow what type/specification lensI should buy? Also is there any scale that lets you know how to convert the optical zoom( 3x,8x etc) to regular lens standard that is measured in mms? Remeber that I am a novice so please feel free to adviseon selecting my lenses.

Any advice or information is appereciated,

S
speedxtreem is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 7, 2004, 10:09 AM   #2

The "x" factor of the fixed lens cameras isn't a very good system (rather bad, actually.) It's a ratio of the long to the short end. The human eye sees the same as a 50mm lens, just to give you a reference point.

So a30-90mm lens is "3x" (the long end is 3 times the length of the short end.) But a 50-150 is also a 3x lens. As you can see they might both be "3x" but the first is wider angle and less of a zoom than the other one. So you should just forget about the "x" factor of the fixed length zooms and instead use the "millimeter" measurement ("mm") instead.

To get portrates you usually use a lens between50mm and 80mm. Something like the 28-135 IS works fairly well. The 50mm f1.8 is also very good (and cheap) but its a fixed length lens. So it can't zoom, you have to move you adjust the framing of the picture. The 28-135 is also reasonably light and small, so its an easy lens to carry around.

When you say you want to take "close ups of distant objects" how distant do you mean, and what objects? birds? buildings? air planes? trees? people? This changes the answer greatly.