Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Sep 29, 2004, 11:04 PM   #1

I am wondering if someone could help me out please, I got the Rebel SLR camera with standart lense that it comes with, however I want to get a telephoto, macro & superwide angle lenses. I am wondering if someone can suggest any? I am a little new to lenses.
I dont want to spend ALOT of money either (per lense)

Thank you

Mark
spookymark is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 29, 2004, 11:27 PM   #2

haha, depends on what "Alot" of money is to you

the sigma 12-24mm lens is almost 700 dollars, but well worth it...

there are near dirt cheap lenses...that won't provide amazing quality, but aren't bad...

i think sigma has a 28-200mm telephoto zoom...with macro capability..

Vito
photosbyvito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2004, 10:43 AM   #3

Mark

What is your budjet for lenses?

Phil
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2004, 11:31 AM   #4

Ya that budget thing is key but more importantly what are your goals and what size prints are you looking for?
VictorEM83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2004, 12:12 PM   #5

I concur - knowing how you will use the lenses will help everyone suggest how 'fast' they need to be. For instance if you want a telephoto for low light sports shooting you are really going to want something with a constant 2.8 (read pricey) but if it is non action and good light then something with a 5.6 might suffice and save you half the money. So let us know what type of shooting you want to do with each of your categories.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2004, 2:19 PM   #6

WOW, thank you for a reply.
Here is what I am looking for,
macro lense that will alow me to take some good sharp pictures;
telephoto lense - I am not big on sports so it will be mainly for stady shots, good light.
Wide Angle - same thing as telephoto.