Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Oct 24, 2004, 7:38 PM   #1

Well, I just got this lense on Friday. I debated for a couple months between it and the Canon 70-200 2.8 L. In the end, not being a professional, I just couldn't justify the added $400 for the Canon. I spent a couple hours playing with it yesterday and so far I am extremely happy. Haven't had a chance yet to shoot sports which is the main reason I got it, but so far am very happy. The only downside is it really makes me wish my 28-135 IS had a constant 2.8 - oh what a benefit that is. I just have one question and I feel a bit foolish but gotta learn somehow - can I carry my 300D around my kneck with a lense like this or will it put too much strain on the coupling?

Here are a few test shots:

JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 24, 2004, 11:00 PM   #2

Great shots! I am very seriously considering this lens, and it puts me just a little bit closer to buying every time I see another satisfied shooter. Make sure to let us know your thoughts after you have had the lens for a bit a the 'newness' has worn off a bit
Gandalf065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2004, 12:15 AM   #3
NHL

JohnG wrote:
Quote:
- can I carry my 300D around my kneck with a lense like this or will it put too much strain on the coupling?
IMO the camera strap fabric is what you should be worry about... eventually the friction against the camera eyelet will tear them off

The 'newness' has definitely worn off on my:

:-):-):-)
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2004, 10:04 PM   #4

Thanks for the insight as usual NHL. As soon as cash allows I will be ordering this lens... I finally made my decision!
Old Oct 25, 2004, 10:14 PM   #5

Greetings,