Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Nov 12, 2004, 12:18 PM   #1

I'm just about to buy the Canon 20D. I've searched and searched and found everything I'd like except for the lenses.
The problem I'm running into are the lenses. I have NO idea what "usm" means. What does "soft focus" mean? What's an Aspherical lens? If it doesn't say auto or manual focus, is it generally one or the other? What is a "T-Mount"

Is there a book someplace I can get to help me with these???
eelbite is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 12, 2004, 12:56 PM   #2

eel... I'm largely with you.... I am a former videographer who's beginning in photography as a hobby to distract me from law. I just acquired an Eos Digital Rebel from eBay and am trying to learn all the joys of the Digital SLR world.

Lastmonth in Popular Photography, there is an article on lens abbreviations (USM, EFS, etc etc) broken down by manufacturer. For example USM= "Ultrasonic Motor" a process for fast and quiet focusing. For info see http://www.canon.com/technology/detail/device/usm/

The thing that I quickly needed to learn was that very few lenses out there actually work with your camera. That doesn't mean that there aren't hundreds of lenses that work, but you just can't buy any lens that you see... it has to have the proper lens mount. The 20D, like my Digital Rebel, (someone correct me please if I'm wrong) uses Canon EF lenses, and will accept lenses made by other manufacturers that have Canon EF mounts. (Don't look at Olympus lenses for your Canon camera.)

I'm sure others will chime in with much more helpful comments, but good luck-- like me, you need it!

perdendosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2004, 9:34 PM   #3