Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Nov 12, 2004, 1:37 PM   #1

I am vacillating between the Tamron 17-35 2.8 and Canon 17-40L. I tried them both yesterday but did not shoot flash.I am curious about the supplied lens shades.The Canon seems the size ofa pizza platevs the tulip- shaped shadeon the Tamron. I am still learning to use the pop up flash on my Drebel. Will the 17-40 shade obstruct that flash? Will Ineed anexternal flash for indoor wide angle shots?
ADSchiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 12, 2004, 3:16 PM   #2
NHL

For a wide angle shot the built-in flash is not goint to cut it regardless of the shade:
1. Not enough power
2. Not enough angle of coverage

... regarding your question though up close would be most problematic with the shade!
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2004, 4:32 PM   #3

Good point about the flash coverage. I thoughtI could get away with it in a home setting, say a group of people in my living room,if half the light wasn't bouncing backin my facefrom the shade.

Would you know if I could use my old Sunpak potato masher strobe with the Drebel?Does someone makea PC cord to go from the flash shoe to the strobe?I coud manuallysetthe shutter to whatever synchspeedthe manual suggests and thef stop to match thesetting on the flash for the ISO I pick. That way the flash head will be well above the shadeandI can even bounce off the ceiling ifI choose.

Is this safe or canI fry something?
Old Nov 12, 2004, 5:07 PM   #4

I would take your flash in to a camera shop or repair shop first and have the voltage tested. Older flash units supply a jolt that would fry today's cameras. The original Vivitar 285 does. The 285 HV is safe.