Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jan 17, 2005, 2:01 PM   #1

Is there a lens that I could use for indoor low light built in flash pics that would help overcome the 20d's problem in this case. Underexposed pics A lens that is for this purpose only I'm new to SLR and I'm thinking one with a F-1.8 might help or am I wrong in thinking this way
HeidiandHans is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 17, 2005, 2:34 PM   #2

I am far from a pro, but if you are going to use a flash anyway, then have you considered just buying a good external flash? That way the lense is less important. I have a 300D, and unless they improved the internal flash greatly on the 20D, the internal flash just plain sucks. Just another approach
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2005, 3:17 PM   #3

The underexposure doesn't have really anything to do with the lens... normally... The underexposure is due to the way the camera is metering the scene.

What model do you have? If you have say a 10D or 20D learn how to use the Flash Exposure Comp... if you have the DRebel learn about the AEL (FEL) or possibly the nifty program that allows your computer to adjust the FEC...
Mr_Saginaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2005, 3:27 PM   #4
NHL

It also has to do with distance - if your subject is too far then...

-> The light from the flash decreases as it travels and spreads proportionaly to the square of the distance traveled
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2005, 9:43 PM   #5

I have the 20d Thanks for the adviceDon't want to waste money on a lens if it wouldn't help So then do a flash exposure lock on something on the dark side in my pic and then take the picture?
Old Jan 17, 2005, 10:04 PM   #6