Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Feb 21, 2005, 9:24 AM   #1

After reading about the fine quality of both these lenses, which do you think is better for a general-purpose walk-around lens?

EF-S 17-85mm USM or EF 28-135mm IS USM
__________________________________________________ ___________

After the walk-around lens, I was thinking of getting an EF-S 10-22mm and maybe a Sigma 70-200mm EX later on. I plan on doing more eclectic work: landscapes, architecture, wildlife, portraits, macros.

I have never used a telephoto before. For the Sigma telephoto, I see a piece of metal running along it. What is that used for? Monopod? Tripod mount? Is it absolutely necessary to have it mounted in order to use it or can one stabilize it using his hand?
Ponin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 21, 2005, 10:04 AM   #2

To some degree it would depend on whether your using a full frame or 1.6 sensor camera. Obviously a 28-135 becomes a 45-216 on a 20D or comparable sensor. 17-85 becomes 27-136. I have owned the Canon 28-135 and I now own the EF-S 17-85. I thought the 28-135 was a pretty good lens but in terms of pure image quality the 17-85 outperforms it. After all it does have a double sided aspherical element which I think contributes to it's outstanding performance.

The other factor is which focal length combination is most useful to you.

tmumolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2005, 10:58 AM   #3
NHL

FYI - http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...24&forum_id=65

Ponin wrote:
Quote:
I have never used a telephoto before. For the Sigma telephoto, I see a piece of metal running along it. What is that used for? Monopod? Tripod mount? Is it absolutely necessary to have it mounted in order to use it or can one stabilize it using his hand?
It's a 'removeable' mount for both a tripod/monopod... and on a longer tele it's actually a handle for you to carry