Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 13, 2005, 2:31 PM   #1

I plan on purchasing one of the lenses listed in the coming days. I have searched this forum and read many comments concerning both. I also did the same on anoher forum as well.

Current camera/lenses:

10d; 24-85mm; 50/1.8 MK II; 75-300/f4-5.6 (all Canon)

I really don't shoot anything indoors (sports, plays, etc...) that would require the speed of the Sigma but the extra stop never hurts just in case. Since all I have used is Canon lenses I have no experiences with Sigmas. I have also read that thef4L has had issues when used on the 10d; specifically backfocusing/soft on left side of photo. I fully realizethat anyone can receive a defective product at any given time from any manufacturer. With that said it seems theF4 has been troublesome on a rather frequent basis when it comes to the 10d. Basically, I want a "warm fuzzy" before choosing between the 2; I hate the thought of having to send one back!! The extra cash for the Sigma is a non-player as well but just to let everyone know I can't afford the 70-200mm/f2.8 from Canon (wife would kill me). I sold her on the 2 listed on the basis it will help improve gas mileage....LOL!!!

Any help/suggestions/samples will be greatly appreciated.
Don M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 13, 2005, 4:35 PM   #2

I own the Canon 70-200F4/L and consider a great lens. I have even shot indoor basketball and the lens worked great. I moved the ISO settings to 800 on my 20D. I do not hesitate to recommend this fine lens. I also own a Sigma 50-500 (Bigma) lens and really love this lens for outdoor photography.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2005, 4:41 PM   #3

gibsonpd3620,