Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 24, 2005, 7:14 PM   #1

I am new to digital SLR's, moved from my Canon Pro90. I purchased a Canon Rebel 350 XT with the kit lens and also a Canon 55-200 F4.5-5.6 II USM Lens to go with it. I wanted about the same zoom range that my Pro90 has. The image noise quality is greatly superior to my old camera, and I really like the focus & capture speed. But image sharpness has been a dissapointment. With the kit lensthe sharpnessis about the same as the Pro90 would produce, but the 55-200 zoom is not acceptable, way too soft. The kit lens is sharper than the 55-200at the 55 end, and the old Pro90 is noticably sharper throughout the entire zoom range up to 200. These test were all done using a tri-pod in daylight, with iso 100. I also took some sunset pictures, iso 400, and found lots of noise that I was not expecting. And the pictures were not sharp, the old Pro90 did much better. I have taken over 300 pictures with the two lens on the camera and all the photo's have the same soft focus with the 55-200 lens all through the zoom range.
I am almost wishing I had purchased the Panasonic FZ20 instead of the Rebel.

[size=][/FONT]

][size=][/FONT][/FONT][/FONT][/FONT][/FONT][/size]

From Butterfly I can exchange the 55-200 lens for:
Canon 75-300 F/4.5-6 III USM SLR Lens
Canon 28-135 SLR Lens F3.5 USM IS
Canon 28-200 SLR Lens F3.5 -5.6 USM
Canon 75-300 F/4.5-6 IS USM SLR Lens
Sigma 28-135 AF SLR F3.8-5.6 For Canon
Sigma 28-200 ASP 3.5-5.6 HZ Macro for Canon
Sigma 24-135 AF 2.8-4.5 ASP For Canon
Sigma 70-300 DL MACRO SLR Lens For Canon F4-5.6
Sigma 28-300 ASP 3.5-6.3 HZ For Canon
[/b]
]
Winginhunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 24, 2005, 8:36 PM   #2