Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old May 11, 2005, 12:46 PM   #1

Hi,

I'm going to buy arebbel XTthis summer, and its going to be my first SLR, so i could really use some advice on the lenses.

I'm thinking of buyingXT body with these lenses:

Canon 24-85/3,5-4,5 EF USM and

Sigma APO Macro Super II 70-300 F4-5.6

I'm not a professional photographer, so i really don't need L lenses (and i also dont have the money for them ) But i also think that the kitlens just doesn't do the XT justice. Or am i wrong about this?

So my main question is, do these lenses make a good "starter" package or not? Or would you recommend other lenses?

JjJames
JjJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 11, 2005, 1:22 PM   #2
Super Moderator

why don't you check outthe sigma 18-125 3.5-5.6 dcfor your walkabout/standard zoom.. it is very sharp and will give you more range than the canon 24-85..

http://www.sigma-photo.com/lenses/le...mp;navigator=6

Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2005, 3:03 PM   #3

I had looked at that lens before, but i read that a lot of people find it to be soft, and ,my main concern, slow in AF. Is ths true?

i have also lookes at this lens:

Canon 28-105/3,5-4,5 EF II USM

wich also has a better range.

off course with both canon lenses i lose my wide angle.

I stand a bit sceptical against sigma or tamron lenses, mainly because of my dad, he cant say a good word about third party lenses )

For the telezoom i was also gona pik a canon 75-300, until i read saw this review:

http://www.fotosite.cz/clanky/cl_00080/

i cant read the text but the pictures say more then enough i think.

Old May 11, 2005, 6:01 PM   #4
Super Moderator

the 18-125 will be a bit noisier and slower to AF than the canon usms or the sigma hsms..