Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old May 13, 2005, 1:56 PM   #1

I despretly need advice. I just bought the 350D with the kitlens and i'm verry dissapointed. Now, I need an all-around lens to replace my 18-55. As i'm new to slr, i would really appreciate your help. Till now, i decided over the 2 abovementioned lenses. The Canon is IS and supposingly better quality, but the sigma has a better range. what do u think? Any other comments?
andreicretu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2005, 5:29 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Hmm, if you're VERY disappointed are you sure the problem is in the lens? The kit lens isn't rubbish by any means.

It may be that you're encountering the learning curve that many people moving up from P&S find when they first go to DSLR. Your pictures get worse before they get better, if you post some examples here then there are many experienced hands willing to help.

I hope you take no offense, certainly none is meant.

peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2005, 10:45 PM   #3

Spend some time learning what you have now before you spend more money on enhanced equipment. I have owned my EOS 20D for about six monts (with an EF-S 17-85IS lens) and have been getting good pictures for about two or three months. There's a pretty steep learning curve with these powerful and complex digital SLR cameras. Throwing money at your problems sounds like a government solution. Take a lot of pictures, read a lot of books and visit a lot of web sites.
Wildman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2005, 2:26 PM   #4

Hello ,

I tend to agree with andreicretu since I feel like him .
I don't think that it got something to do with learning curves .

I explain what is the source of my disappointment :

Until now I used the Olympus 4000z and I got the 350D as a gift with the kit lens .
I put both cameras side by side on a 3pod and took the same picture on both