Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old May 22, 2005, 7:08 AM   #1

I just ordered a Canon 28-200 mm lens for my RebelXT. I've been having second thoughts now that maybe the 28-135 IS is a better selection. I originally went with the 200 for the extra zoom range, but I've seen some posts saying that the lens is really only about a 150mm, not the advertised 200. I've also seen a couple saythe 200 isn't as optically good as the 135.

My question is this, if I do end up cancelling that order and going with the 28-135 IS, can the IS be turned off (will I ever not want the IS for a particular reason)? I've never used an IS lens before, so I'm not exactly sure when it turns itself on, what options the user has to affect its function, how much of the battery it drains, etc...

Any help on those things would be most useful to help me decide which lens to go with.

Thanks
G35Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 22, 2005, 8:28 AM   #2

There is a switch on the lens like the AF switch for turning it off.

You need to turn it off when you are using a tripod. If you don't turn it off, the stabiliser gets confused because the camera is so steady and it starts to vibrate and makes things worse.

As for battery life, I'm not sure how much current it takes, but I've never had an issue with it flattening my battery in an excessively short time.

When you half press the shutter you can feel the IS "kick in". The image will jump slightly in the view finder.

If you wave the camera around while looking through the view finder you can feel motion sickness because the image you see doesn't move in time with the camera. There is a lag.

I love my 28-135 IS. (Not literally, that would be weird)
Paul(UK) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2005, 5:10 PM   #3
Super Moderator