Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old May 27, 2005, 11:45 AM   #1

Ok, this is the deal. I'm a wide angle gal. My main purpose for getting the rebel xt is to shoot wonderful pictures of my kids (2 & 4 yo) and landscape-mountains and lakes, so my main lens needs to be wide angle and great in low light/indoors. So, after 6 months (3 months to decide to get the rebel xt and 3 months of looking around on forums, etc for lenses), I've narrowed it down to the Sigma 17-35mm f2.8-4 ex dg hsm (after seeing pictures from NHL of the ferris wheel), or the Sigma 18-50 f2.8 ex dc. My second lens, because of money constraints, is maybe the Tokina 24-200 AT-X242AF, this I can upgrade later. I welcome other suggestions, but I like the range of the Tokina, and the price. FYI, I plan on ordering the rebel xt today without lens, so I am totally new to all this, though it has been fun following all the forums. I love photography. Welcome all suggestions.
McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 27, 2005, 1:46 PM   #2
NHL

IMO If you're a wide angle person, you'll be better off with the 17-35 f/2.8-4 EX or the 18-50 f/2.8 EX DC... The 24-200 won't be wide enough - although this option would be the better value of the 3

The 18-50 f/2.8 EX DC is a digital lens so it'll be the most compact. The 17-35 f/2.8-4 EX is a full-frame so you'll be using the best center part of that lens only - this lens also has HSM so the focus is faster, almost silent and you can also overide the AF full-time

If you don't mind the smaller aperture, you might as well consider the 18-125 or 18-200 which will give you a little more range... and better of an all purpose lens.
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2005, 2:37 PM   #3