Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old May 29, 2005, 5:27 PM   #1

Hi guys,

I went to a local autocross event yesterday to test my 300D. I know that the stock lens does not have enough reach but I decided to give it a shot anyways. Well as for the results, I was really dissapointed because i couldnt go anywhere near 200 feet of any of the cones so obviously my 55mm max zoom is not enough to get good pictures.

I've decided to purchase a lens this week and I've narrowed it down to 3 lenses:

- Sigma 70-300 Super II APO

-Canon 55-200 USM

-Sigma 55-200 DC ( no USM features I believe)

You may recommend me more expensive lenses than these 3, however at this point I dont want to spend on anything expensive as I'm still learning. The perfect lens I need is basically a lens with enough zoom that is not too soft at full reach. I'm also contemplating if I should stick with 55-200mm since its equivalent to 320mm max on my 300D. Please keep in mind that I am not a pro so I'm not looking into any of the L glasses, all I need is a good overall lens that have enough zoom for walk around and race pictures.

Sigma 70-300 APO seems to be highly favored, but I thought I should throw in the canon 55-200 USM on the mix. What do you guys think? by any chance, anybody here had taken pictures of moving cars on the road or track with any of the above lenses?

Regards,

Casey
rally123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 29, 2005, 9:19 PM   #2

Rally,

There is a thread running in Canon EOS that you should catch. The same question only it's a 350D. As far as this is concerned there is no difference.

Canon 350d + Sigma 70- 300 mm .

dale

thatsanicepicture2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2005, 3:43 AM   #3

Hi Dale!

I've been keeping an eye on that thread closely, seems like a lot of people are pretty happy with their sigma lenses.