Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old May 31, 2005, 1:16 PM   #1

I need help deciding on a telephoto lens for my Rebel XT. I'll be taking 90% of my photo's outdoors from the sidelines of football, baseball and soccer fields. (Outside) The rest will be indoor basketball games. I really want to be able to stop the action and get pretty good close up shots. I need help deciding on a lens which will meet my needs now and in the future. I'm fairly new at this but don't want to "trade up" in a year or so if I can start with a lens I'll be happy with yrs from now. I'm not a pro and don't intend to be one anytime soon!! Just a dad anxious to capture great shots of my children doing what they love to do. Sports! Here's what I've considered:

Canon EF 75-300 F/4-5.6 IS USM

Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 EX HSM

Sigma 80-400 F/4.5-5.6 EX OS

I'm not limited to these, just considering them. I really don't want to spend over 1K but don't know if I can get by with something much cheaper considering what I want to do with the camera. I'm willing to listen...All help is welcome.

XTOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 31, 2005, 1:45 PM   #2
NHL

Well IS and OS are out for action shots - it freezes your camera shakes with shutter speeds too slow to be handheld but doen't work on the fast movement of the subject(s)

-> You are left with whatever fast lens of f/2.8 or more... so you can use the faster shutter speed to stop the action indoor

Flash is probably the best bet (if allowed) - or see how far you can push the ISO with slower lenses :idea:
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2005, 2:34 PM   #3

Have a look at canon 70-200 f4. If ´90 percent of your shotsare taken outdoor it could benice option. Fairly inexpensive too. Light and very sharp.