Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jun 3, 2005, 5:05 PM   #1

I'm pretty new to the digital era and Steve's forums and I'm looking for some opinions on various telephoto options. I'm mostly taking sports photos of my teenaged kids. I'veborrowed an old Tamron 200-400mm/F5.6 and got some reasonably good outdoor pictures (at least to my neophyte eye). My friend has offered to sell it to me for $200but it has definite limitations in lower light which I'm in when trying to photograph basketball and hockey events.

From what I've read, a good alternative may be the Sigma 70-200/F2.8, and then to recover the reach I'd add a 2x converter giving me a net 140-400/F5.6.This would seem to give me a goodlower light capabilityout to 200mm indoor and stillhopefully decent performance up to 400mm for outdoor events. Total cost may be something like $900.

A few questions:

1)Any comments onthe idea?

2) Which extender would you recommend?

3) Alternative ideas?

thanks for any feedback
russperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 3, 2005, 5:50 PM   #2

1. Good workable idea :-) [/*]
  2. Sigmas matched extender [/*]
  3. Alternatives are [/*]
    • Canon 70-200 F2.8 L,(for more $) [/*]
    • Sigma 100-300 F4 & 1.4x Tc, about same cost. [/*]
    • Sigma 120-300 F2.8 & 2x Tc, expensive.[/*]
Peter
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2005, 6:35 PM   #3