Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jun 9, 2005, 6:56 AM   #1

Hi guys.

I need some advice on which lens to buy with my 20d. I am taking my holiday in San Francisco and before I go I can only afford to buy one lens. I am primarily interested in taking architectural/ cityscape and landscape shots (I'm also visiting Yosemite national park).
Which lens would you guys recommend?
I am looking at the CANON EFS 17/85 4-5,6 IS USM lens or the CANON EF-S 10-22mm f/3,5-4,5 USM lens. Would the wide-angle lens be too restrictive for general use as the only lens on a trip or is this balanced by the spectacular shots that you can get with it? Also does anyone have any shots taken with this lens at both ends its range?

I'm fairly new to the word of DSLR's so any pointers would be appreciated

Ohh, lastly are these lenses cheaper to buy Stateside, compared to here in the UK?

:|
jonathan1011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 9, 2005, 10:23 AM   #2

Hi,

Quote:
Would the wide-angle lens be too restrictive for general use as the only lens on a trip
I would say .. yes probably.

I've got 10-22 to use with my 20D (second camera.) I don't have the 17-85 as I already have other lensesfor this rangeprior to the 20D coming out. However I have used it. If you are going to buy just one lens at the moment I would recommend you get the 17-85. The 10-22 is wide and will be good for taking architectural/ cityscape and landscape shots. But the wide end of the 17-85 will not be bad also. Plus with its range and IS, its gonna really help you out walking around the city.

Oh, the 17-85 is going to be much more usable to you. Maybe your only going to realize this when you have them both. On this cameras crop factor, this lens is where most photographs get taken - generally anyway. Outside of this is when specific types of photography are taking place.