Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jun 22, 2005, 5:30 PM   #1

Hey everybody,

Well, I've been sitting around with my XT for almost two months. I could say I learned a lot within the time, but there are still some things I'm not so sure and I was hoping you guys would be able to fill in the gaps

-Could someone explain the lens construction detail; the "X elements in Y groups". What does that really mean and is this concept somehow proportional to the optical quality of a lens?

-How does a lens affect the colour/saturation/contrst/etc. of a picture? Isn't glass just glass? I might understand how an UD or ASP glass may alter it, but if you look at the cross-sectional diagram of the canon 50mm 1.4, there is no "special" glass but people keep saying the colouring is good.

-What's this "distance scale" from some number to infinity?

-For a crop factor of 1.6x, would I only consider up to ~15mm in MTF charts?

-How many of you actually use filters?

And lastly

-Which lens which you pick: the EF 85 1.8 or EF 50 1.4? At first I was only looking at the 50 until I started noticing the 85... With the 85 I could still see a reason to use my kit lens, but the focal length might be too long since I never tried it... :O
BoYFrMSpC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 22, 2005, 11:04 PM   #2
NHL

BoYFrMSpC wrote:
Quote:
-Could someone explain the lens construction detail; the "X elements in Y groups".
X - is the total number of glass pieces inside the lens (7 total for the 50 f/1.4)

Y - is howseveral element are mated together to form a particular correcting function (6 for the 50 f/1.4 -> only 2 elements are linked)

Quote:
What does that really mean and is this concept somehow proportional to the optical quality of a lens?
I doubt this...

Quote: