Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jun 24, 2005, 3:35 PM   #1

I have been playing around with a couple of f2.8 lenses from sigma and tokina and have found that shots taken at f6-f8 are much more clear.

Sigma ex24-70 f2.8

Tokina 80-200 f2.8

Both lenses new

I have been shootng at a poorly lit gym Competitive cheerleaders doing gymnastic tumble routines.

The lighting made me push the iso to 1600 to get enough shutter speed so not to have blurr the fstop was at 2.8

the pics came out grainy i think i know y duh iso 1600 right?

TV was 1/125-1/250 still getting hair and feet blurring!

Im getting so frustrated!

WHY? Technically speaking? is it me? I dont get it?
1texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 24, 2005, 4:27 PM   #2

I'm no expert on this, but I have taken a lot of pictures and gymnastic events. most of the time I used a canon 85mm f/1.8, and tried not to go over ISO 400, but depending on where I was at in the gym sometimes had to push it to 800. Even at that I still get some blur sometimes, which I beleive is mostly caused by the poor lighting not letting you get a fast enough shutter speed, more than your ability to take quality pictures. As far as pictures taken at f8, I have heard the f/8 is kind of the sweet spot so to speak with most lenses, don't ask me why though, maybe NHL can answer that one if he decides to chime in here.
Caboose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2005, 4:55 PM   #3