Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jun 28, 2005, 8:28 AM   #1

I got this lens from somebody at a cheap price, but I found its IS part
is strange. When I focus and move the lens slightly, the IS lens follows
to my new location very slowly in 1/5 of a second(at least there is IS in
the lens).

When I shoot at 1/2, 1/3, 1/5 sec after sunset, there were no improvements
compared to IS off. Both cases pictures were out of shape. There were not
any sound or vibration inside the lens (on EF300F4L-IS, I was aware there
are stuff vibrate fiercely inside). Is my ER28-135 in working condition or faulty?

Sample pictures (IS version) were taken a tower two kilometers away.
F5.6, 135mm, 0.8s.

:?

Attached Images

KyoceraM400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 28, 2005, 8:29 AM   #2

Tower without IS, IS turned off with handhold.
F5.6, 135mm, 1.0s.
Attached Images

Old Jun 28, 2005, 8:42 AM   #3

I am new to DSLR though, maybe I neglected something but the lens is
so easy to operate.
Old Jun 28, 2005, 9:40 AM   #4
NHL

It looks like it's working to me...

-> you really need a tripod for this slow (i.e. you're pushing your luck with almost 1s), or crank up the ISO instead.
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2005, 10:01 AM   #5

Thank you NHL. I was aware that in EF300F4L-IS, there are mechanisms that
vibrates inside the lens, so I am expecting the same with this lens. Somebody
who has used this EF 28-135 F3.5-5.6 USM IS could tell whether my expectation
is true. :idea: I was aware that the IS of Canon is about moving the lens to counter
act shaking.

Old Jun 28, 2005, 10:14 AM   #6
NHL

There's a mechanism inside the EF 28-135 F3.5-5.6 USM IS and you can definitely hear and feel it as well
... but the best indication is the viewfinder orienting itself after a "forced" shake
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2005, 6:53 PM   #7